Welcome to Life is Just a Blog

I’m a writer, author, editor, and publisher. Part of me cringes when I put such into writing, but it must be done. For years I’ve been a lover of books. To curl up and lose myself in the pages of some fantasy novel or soar into the darkness of space on a ship. It didn’t matter.

My grandmother once lent me a copy of Fantastic Tales, a publication from 1948. Once I devoured it, my love for such writing blossomed. That is where it all began.

In my teens, elaborate back stories of D&D characters would come from my mind to engage others. The more colourful the story the better the character was during the champagnes. And that was just the beginning.

Later in life, employers found my love of the written word perfect for putting together training manuals and operational guidelines. With multiple manuals under my belt, I decided to take on the world of creative writing, and have not looked back since.

A Spear In Flight

Book One of the Spear series
Orphaned at birth, three children are taken to the training grounds of the Spears where they are indoctrinated into their ranks.

A Sharp Spear Point

Book Two of the Spear series
After completing their training, our three young adults are thrust into their first confrontation with the hobs army.

Suitable for 14 years and over

Slashed by a Spear Shaft

Book Three of the Spear series
During their journey back to The Capital, Jon disappears. And as they struggle to make their way home, Bethany and Thomasyn find their world changed.

Suitable for 14 years and over

Inside My Mind: Volume I

A collection of short stories and flash fiction. Containing the story Lonely and The End of the World. Get lost in the worlds of Douglas Owen.

Inside My Mind Volume II

Three years in the making, Volume II twists your reality with Stitching and Disposal, some of the more disturbing stories from the Master Story Teller Douglas Owen

The Hordes

Book One of the Broken World series
When the apocalypse comes it will hit everywhere at the same time. Corpses will walk the earth and only a few people will survive. Steve is one of them. And along with his girlfriend, Mindy, they must strive to survive in the broken world.

The Family

Book Two of the Broken World series
Steve struggles to rescue Mindy from The Family. And once that is done, they need to find a new place to live. But things are not always easy in the broken world they live in.

China Girl

Women are disappearing.

Bruce catches a case of a kidnapped woman. His only clues are a broken heel and three drops of blood. And to top it off, he’s assigned to babysit and Interpol officer from another country.

A crime fiction novel with light science fiction undertones.

Do You Love To Read?

Authors need your help and they’re willing to give you a book for free!

That’s right, authors need you to read their book a review it. And they’re willing to give you a copy of their book for free to get a review.

Join Arc Reviewers today!

Download – Read – Review – Repeat